Finding Happiness Vs Finding yourself

Are you a happy person?

Or you’re still in search for happiness?

Happiness, may be a feeling, but I’d like to think of it as a state of mind.

smiley-face-on-beach

I have always tried to be positive in my thoughts, in my action, in my perception of things, and always believed that things, whether good or bad, happened for a reason.


I’m guessing that everyone has read articles on the internet about steps towards happiness; it’s refreshing to read such encouraging and optimistic stuff.

I’m even guessing that some of you are trying to follow the same path as the ‘eat, love, pray’ writer, or any other book of that kind.

The truth is it’s not always the case with everybody’s search for happiness. Every one creates his own steps, therefore, his own unique story, that may only work them. Reaching happiness is a lot of work; it’s not a day over night thing, constant work is required, otherwise you get sucked in the negative thoughts, thus, the dark side.

I, for instance, am still trying to figure out my ultimate happiness. This doesn’t mean I stay at home in my dark room under my sheets waiting for a miracle, HELL NO. I really really try to work on myself, on my personality. In general, I’m a very positive happy person.

Of course I have my “not so positive thoughts” from time to time, I’m not perfect. I sometimes go into my dark bubble, which is not so great, but I survive every time. That’s what’s keeping me going.

During my short pursuit for happiness, I figured out that happiness comes from one’s own personality.

You want to be happy?

Get to know your personality, make peace with it, embrace it. Know what brings the best and the worst of it.

Here’s an old Cherokee story that sums up what I believe in :

tumblr_lzwtfxISZ01qjxky8o1_400

A Native American grandfather was talking to his grandson about how he felt.

He said,  “I feel as if I have two wolves fighting in my heart.

One wolf is the vengeful, angry, violent one. The other wolf is the loving, compassionate one.”

“Sometimes, the bad one seems to win…. and other times, the good one seems to take a stronger lead. When we see honorable people who do great deeds, and make great sacrifices for the good of others, we know that the good wolf’s spirit is strong within his heart, and is the winning spirit in that Human Being. Each good and honorable deed he does gives this spirit more power within him. This in turn, empowers the Human Being to be more honorable.”

The boy smiled, as the grandfather continued to speak….

“But when we see those people who turn to badness, and hatred, doing terrible and dishonorable things, we can know that the bad wolf within him is strong – and each bad and wrongful deed he does, gives the bad wolf more power over him, until it has won, and has utterly consumed him.”

The grandson asked him, “Which wolf will win the fight in your heart?”

The grandfather answered:  “The one I feed.”

How about you?  Are you feeding the right wolf?

Aside

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marwa3
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 18:22:41

    Girl! I’ve just read two of your writings and I’m already in LOVE with them… You’re such an amzing writer, keep doing that 😉 You’ll become famous one day, I’m sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

